- The Number: 70% on a 135-Question Exam
- 125 Scored Questions and Ten Unscored Items
- What 70% Means in Practice
- Where the Questions Come From: Item Counts by Area
- What RETA Does Not Publish
- Test-Day Rules That Protect Your Score
- Fees, Practice Exams and Retest Costs
- Eligibility You Must Clear Before You Can Score Anything
- A Domain-Ordered Plan for Reaching 70%
- After You Pass: Validity and Renewal
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The Certified Industrial Refrigeration Operator exam requires a 70% passing score on 135 multiple-choice questions in three hours.
- Of the 135 questions, 125 are scored and ten are unscored, spread across the eight content areas.
- Item counts per area run 20, 15, 15, 20, 20, 20, 15 and 10 but are not published scored-domain weights.
- The 2026 exam fee is US$570 for RETA members and US$865 for non-members, including one 70-question practice exam.
The Number: 70% on a 135-Question Exam
The Certified Industrial Refrigeration Operator (CIRO) credential is administered by the Refrigerating Engineers & Technicians Association (RETA), with RETA Network and Kryterion Test Centers handling delivery and staff-managed scheduling. The live examination consists of 135 multiple-choice questions delivered over three hours, and the passing score is 70%.
That sounds simple, but "70%" invites several misreadings: 70% of what, scored how, and with which questions counting? The rest of this article answers those questions using only what the issuer's study guide and RETA's published 2026 testing information confirm. If you want the broader difficulty picture first, see our companion piece How Hard Is the CIRO Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026.
125 Scored Questions and Ten Unscored Items
Not every question on your screen counts toward your result. The CIRO Study Guide confirms that the exam contains 125 scored questions and ten unscored questions, with the unscored items distributed across the eight content areas. Candidates cannot tell which items are unscored while testing, which means the correct strategy is to treat every question as if it counts.
The practical consequences:
- Never skip effort on a "weird" question. An oddly worded item might be unscored, but you cannot know that, so a careless answer risks a real point.
- Do not spend excessive time on a single stubborn item. With only a handful of unscored questions mixed in, the odds that any given hard question is unscored are low.
- Do not try to reverse-engineer your result from a raw count. RETA does not publish an item-by-item conversion for the exam, so build your target around the 70% standard rather than a guessed number of misses.
What 70% Means in Practice
Because the passing standard is stated as a percentage, the safest planning assumption is that you need to answer roughly seven out of every ten scored questions correctly. Treat that as a floor, not a goal. Candidates who aim exactly at the cut line leave no margin for the questions that inevitably catch them off guard.
Operators with years on the plant floor often overestimate how much that experience will carry them. Daily operating knowledge (reading gauges, responding to alarms, running defrost cycles) is real and valuable, but the exam also tests electrical fundamentals, heat-flow concepts and safety-standard knowledge in a formal, multiple-choice framing. For a structured approach to closing those gaps, see our CIRO Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt.
Where the Questions Come From: Item Counts by Area
The official RETA CIRO Study Guide organizes the exam into eight content areas and lists the total number of items in each, including the ten unscored items that are distributed across them. Here are those counts:
| # | Content Area | Total Items (incl. any unscored) |
|---|---|---|
| 1 | Safety Standards and Practices | 20 |
| 2 | Electricity | 15 |
| 3 | Heat Flow | 15 |
| 4 | Monitoring System Performance | 20 |
| 5 | Valves, Controls and DX Systems | 20 |
| 6 | Liquid Overfeed and Flooded Systems | 20 |
| 7 | Two-Stage and Secondary Coolant Systems | 15 |
| 8 | Evaporator Defrost | 10 |
These counts sum to 135 total items. Four areas carry 20 items each: Safety Standards and Practices, Monitoring System Performance, Valves, Controls and DX Systems, and Liquid Overfeed and Flooded Systems. Heat Flow, Electricity and Two-Stage and Secondary Coolant Systems carry 15 each, and Evaporator Defrost is the smallest at 10.
What the counts suggest for your preparation
Even without published scored weights, the layout makes a few things clear. Roughly half the exam sits in four 20-item areas, so weakness in any one of them is costly. Evaporator Defrost has the fewest items, but it is also a topic where practical plant experience translates well, so it is often a place to bank points rather than a place to neglect. Meanwhile, the 15-item areas (Electricity, Heat Flow and Two-Stage and Secondary Coolant Systems) are small enough to feel skippable and large enough to sink a borderline result.
What RETA Does Not Publish
Honest preparation means knowing the limits of the public information. Based on the sources reviewed for this article:
- Scored-domain weights are unpublished. The item counts above are the only structural detail available, and the unscored-item distribution prevents an exact scored-weight ranking.
- A current overall pass rate is not publicly disclosed. RETA has reported a historical 58% rate, but only for CIRO candidates who used a practice test in the first half of 2024. That figure describes a specific subgroup, not all candidates, and should not be treated as the exam's general pass rate. We unpack this in CIRO Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows.
- Live remote availability and adaptive format were not verified. Do not assume you can test from home, and do not assume the exam adapts to your performance. Confirm delivery options directly with RETA when you register.
- Resource posting dates are not revision dates. The outline was posted September 1, 2023 and the handbook January 5, 2026, but those are posting dates and not confirmed internal revision dates.
Test-Day Rules That Protect Your Score
A passing score can be undone by logistics. The confirmed test-day conditions are:
- Issuer on-screen references are available. You can consult the references the exam provides, so learn how to find information quickly rather than memorizing every table.
- Personal study guides are prohibited. Do not bring your own notes or books into the testing area.
- A basic calculator is required. Bring one you are comfortable with, because electricity and heat-flow problems reward fast, accurate arithmetic.
- Two IDs are required. Check name matching between your registration and your identification well before test day.
Key Takeaway
Rehearse with the same constraints you will face on exam day: a basic calculator, no personal notes, and the three-hour clock. Practicing with open notes builds false confidence that evaporates in the testing room.
For a compact refresher of the facts worth memorizing, our CIRO Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts is a useful companion, though remember that it, like any personal study aid, cannot go into the exam with you.
Fees, Practice Exams and Retest Costs
The score you need is only half the planning problem; the other half is budget. The 2026 exam fee is US$570 for RETA members and US$865 for non-members. That fee includes one 70-question official practice exam. If you want additional practice attempts, they cost $59 each. If you fall short of 70%, the posted eligible retest fee is $380 for members and $580 for non-members.
| Item | RETA Member | Non-Member |
|---|---|---|
| 2026 exam fee (includes one 70-question practice exam) | US$570 | US$865 |
| Posted eligible retest fee | $380 | $580 |
| Additional practice attempt | $59 | |
The arithmetic is worth noticing: a failed first attempt followed by an eligible retest costs substantially more than a well-prepared first attempt, which makes extra practice attempts at $59 a comparatively inexpensive form of insurance. Membership status also changes the numbers noticeably, so compare the member and non-member columns before you register. Our CIRO Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown walks through the full cost picture.
Eligibility You Must Clear Before You Can Score Anything
You cannot reach the 70% question until you qualify to sit. The reviewed requirements call for at least two years of industrial refrigeration operation or technician experience and a separate Verification of Experience (VOE) signed by a supervisor, manager or colleague. The reviewed requirements do not list a degree, a CARO prerequisite, a fixed training-hour total or further references.
Start the VOE early. Getting a signature from a busy plant manager can take longer than expected, and it is the kind of administrative step that delays exam scheduling more often than difficulty does. Full details are in CIRO Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify, and scheduling windows are covered in CIRO Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.
A Domain-Ordered Plan for Reaching 70%
Here is a single, CIRO-specific sequencing idea tied to the item counts: begin with the topics that underpin everything else, then move to the large operational areas, and finish with the smallest.
Foundations: Electricity and Heat Flow
- Work calculation problems with a basic calculator, since that is what you will use on exam day.
- These concepts recur inside the system-level areas, so early mastery pays off repeatedly.
The 20-item heavyweights
- Safety Standards and Practices, Monitoring System Performance, Valves, Controls and DX Systems, and Liquid Overfeed and Flooded Systems.
- Together these four areas account for 80 of the 135 total items.
Specialty systems and defrost
- Two-Stage and Secondary Coolant Systems, then Evaporator Defrost.
- Tie defrost back to the controls and valves material you already covered.
Timed full-length practice
- Use the included 70-question practice exam, then add attempts as needed.
- Review every miss by content area to find where your points are leaking.
Where candidates commonly lose points
Without a published pass rate or domain-level score data, we can't claim to know which area trips up the most candidates. What you can do is find your own weak spots.
- Track practice misses by the eight official area names.
- Any area where you miss more than a few items deserves a second pass before test day.
- Pay special attention to calculation-based questions, where a small arithmetic slip converts a known concept into a lost point.
For hands-on question practice organized by these same eight areas, use the CIRO Exam Prep practice tests, and see our main practice test site for the full question bank.
After You Pass: Validity and Renewal
The credential is valid for three years. Renewal requires 24 approved PDHs (2.4 CEUs) recorded in the RETA Certification Database, plus a renewal fee of $180 for members or $635 for non-members. The gap between those two renewal fees is a good reason to think about membership early, since it affects both your initial exam cost and your long-term maintenance cost.
Whether the investment makes sense for your career is a separate question. Our Is the CIRO Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 and CIRO Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis cover that decision in depth.
Frequently Asked Questions
The passing score is 70%. The live exam has 135 multiple-choice questions to be completed in three hours, of which 125 are scored and ten are unscored.
No. The ten unscored questions are distributed across the eight content areas and are not identified on screen, so you should give every question your full effort.
The sources reviewed describe a single 70% passing standard and do not publish separate per-area cut scores or scored-domain percentages. The study guide's item counts per area (20, 15, 15, 20, 20, 20, 15 and 10) show relative emphasis but are not official weights.
A current overall pass rate is not publicly disclosed in the sources reviewed. RETA reported a historical 58% rate only for CIRO candidates who used a practice test in the first half of 2024, which should not be read as the rate for all test takers.
You may be eligible to retest. The posted eligible retest fee is $380 for RETA members and $580 for non-members, so a well-prepared first attempt is considerably cheaper than relying on a second try.
You need a basic calculator and two IDs. Issuer on-screen references are available during the exam, but personal study guides are prohibited.